Australian Board in General Surgery

The Australian Board in General Surgery (Board) is the overseer of the General Surgery SET Program in Australia, and reports directly to the RACS Board of Surgical Education and Training.

Click here for information regarding the Training Committee of the Board.

Below is a list of the current Board Members.

Dr Robert Whitfield, FRACS

Deputy Chair & IMG Representative
Dr Gabriella Vasica, FRACS

Incoming Deputy Chair
Dr Satish Warrier, FRACS

Training Chair, New South Wales/Australian Capital Territory
Dr Thembi Ncube, FRACS

Training Chair, Queensland
Dr Iain Thomson, FRACS

Training Chair, South Australia/Northern Territory
Dr Harsh Kanhere, FRACS

Training Chair, Victoria
Professor Glenn Guest, FRACS

Training Chair, Western Australia
Dr Michael Tan, FRACS

Chair, SEAM Working Party
Dr Sayed Hassen, FRACS

Rural Surgery Representative
Dr Brian Kirkby, FRACS

Australian Trainee Representative
Dr Alison Browning

Senior Examiner in General Surgery
Dr Charles Mosse, FRACS

RACS Specialty Elected Councillor - General Surgery
Dr Gregory Keogh FRACS

Chair, GSET Evaluation Working Party
A/Prof Vijayaragavan Muralidharan, FRACS

GSET Working Party Member
Prof Richard Turner, FRACS

Co-opted Chair, New Zealand Board in General Surgery
Dr Dave Moss, FRACS

GSA Representative
Dr Sally Butchers, FRACS

Community Representative
Ms Emma Fogarty

2024 Board Meeting Dates

  • Saturday 2nd March
  • Saturday 22nd June
  • Saturday 7th September
  • Saturday 23rd November