Find a Surgeon

Find a Surgeon Map QLD NSW VIC TAS SA WA NT
Rollover and select a State above or enter your postcode

Board in General Surgery

The Board in General Surgery (BiGS) is the overseer of the General Surgery SET Program, and reports directly to the Board of Surgical Education and Training and the RACS Council.

Click here for information regarding the Regional Training Committee of the BiGS.

Below is a list of the current BiGS Members.

Dr Kellee Slater, FRACS

Deputy Chair & IMG Representative
Mr Sayed Hassen, FRACS

Training Chair, New South Wales/Australian Capital Territory
Dr Julie Howle, FRACS

Training Chair, New Zealand
Mr Simon Bann, FRACS

Training Chair, Queensland
Dr Richard Bryant, FRACS

Training Chair, South Australia/Northern Territory
Mr Robert Whitfield, FRACS

Training Chair, Victoria
Dr Satish Warrier, FRACS

Training Chair, Western Australia
Mr Andrew Thompson, FRACS

Immediate Past Chair
Dr Elizabeth Dennett, FRACS

Chair, SEAM Working Party
Mr Sayed Hassen, FRACS

Rural Surgery Representative
Mr Brian Kirkby, FRACS

SSE Committee Representative
Dr Mary Theophilus, FRACS

Australian Trainee Representative
Dr Thomas Arthur

New Zealand Trainee Representative
Dr Suheelan Kulasegaran

Senior Examiner in General Surgery
Prof Wendy Brown, FRACS

RACS Specialty Elected Councillor - General Surgery
Mr David Fletcher, FRACS

Co-opted Chair, Logbook Working Party
Mr Michael Warner, FRACS

Co-opted Chair, Assessments Working Party
Prof Richard Turner, FRACS

Co-opted Chair, Training Requirements Party
A/Prof Vijayaragavan Muralidharan, FRACS

GSA Representative
Mr Trevor Collinson, FRACS

NZAGS Representative
Mr Andrew Moot, FRACS

Community Representative
Ms Fiona Vines

2017 Meeting Dates

  • Saturday 4th March 2017
  • Monday 3rd April 2017
  • Monday 8th May 2017
  • Saturday 10th June 2017
  • Monday 24th July 2017
  • Monday 28th August 2017
  • Thursday 28th September 2017
  • Monday 6th November 2017
  • Monday 4th December 2017